suphost.blogg.se

How to install and dual boot linux on a mac
How to install and dual boot linux on a mac













how to install and dual boot linux on a mac
  1. HOW TO INSTALL AND DUAL BOOT LINUX ON A MAC PRO
  2. HOW TO INSTALL AND DUAL BOOT LINUX ON A MAC SOFTWARE

I did enjoy Ubuntu MATE and invested some tweaking with it. (Easier to target since it’s sticked to top edge space of top panel is well used and leave more working area for app window…). I tried Ubuntu MATE (with Unity-like layout) solely because I wanted the global menu which, for me, is the best solution of app menu. Ubuntu MATE: Ubuntu MATE Desktop with Mutiny layout

  • Currently, its configuration ability is limited.
  • Log out crash the session (may be due to Pantheon desktop on top Ubuntu, not real Elementary OS).
  • Old system tray icons won’t show at top bar (iBus, Fcitx, Electron apps…).
  • how to install and dual boot linux on a mac how to install and dual boot linux on a mac

    No global menu, so most of the top panel space is also wasted.Terminal lack of customization (other shortcuts, color theme…).Files explorer with column view similar to macOS Finder.It’s default Terminal app can use Ctrl-C & Ctrl-V for copy & paste.Simple but clean and aesthetic UI, resemble macOS.

    how to install and dual boot linux on a mac

    I was curious about Elementary OS which has minimalist and similar UI to macOS, so I tried out its Pantheon DE on default Ubuntu 18.04. Pantheon Desktop on Ubuntu 18.04: Elementary OS with Slingshot application menu If you’d like some more rants on the problematic GNOME 3, check out this post. I have to run: gnome-shell -replace once in a while.

  • Crashy and sometimes CPU-hog GNOME Shell.
  • (Not GNOME per se, but it just add up some irritation.)
  • Some of my favorite apps like Firefox, Sublime Text are still using fake smooth scrolling.
  • But for GNOME Apps, they hide everything in that menu
  • It’s 2018 and people are moving away from hamburger menus and dropdowns.
  • If I want to do anything, other than with current windows, I have to visit that Activities overview, like: launch another app, search for files, search for apps, switch workspace… which became annoying and distracting to current task.
  • A huge waste of space on the top panel and hide everything in the system tray and app menu dropdowns.
  • Most GNOME apps support pixel perfect scrolling with touch pad.
  • Support legacy application indicators by default (this is another Ubuntu fix for GNOME Shell).
  • Dash to dock by default (this make GNOME Shell on Ubuntu suck less).
  • Type to search anything (similar to macOS Spotlight).
  • Activities overview and Show applications screen.
  • I have a lot of irritation with it and God forbid, GNOME shell, on the contrary to its claim, often steps in my way to get things done! Like: I tried GNOME 3 desktop with GNOME shell for the first time after long time with the old Unity DE and macOS. I kept a note name “Linux Grudges” to list down what I personally dislike and like about each desktop environments (desktop UI experience only, other functionalities are almost the same), so here they are: GNOME Desktop & GNOME Shell (Standard Ubuntu): Default Ubuntu 18.04 with Nautilus After that I tried 2 other desktop environments: Pantheon (of Elementary OS) over Ubuntu 18.04 and MATE (full install of Ubuntu MATE 18.04). Besides, being the most popular Linux distro, it will be easier for me to find answers to issues if I come across.Īt first I installed the default Ubuntu 18.04 with GNOME Shell and felt really irritated. My chosen distro is Ubuntu, because I am very much used to it, and it’s stable, especially on exotic hardware like MacBook Air.

    HOW TO INSTALL AND DUAL BOOT LINUX ON A MAC SOFTWARE

    So my strategy for now is to dual boot a Linux distro along with macOS on this machine, first to get familiar with modern Linux desktop experience, and secondly, to explore the tools and software that can replace my current ones on macOS. However, my aged MacBook Air is still working great. With all of that, I seriously consider moving away from Apple walled garden and embrace Linux where I can freely choose hardware from other vendors. And for MacBook Air, its chips are now outdated (as of 08/2018) and worse its peripheral design hasn’t change since… forever.

    HOW TO INSTALL AND DUAL BOOT LINUX ON A MAC PRO

    The shallow and dirt-prone butterfly keyboards on the new MacBook and MacBook Pro.Apple’s slow on updating its laptops hardware.Bad reviews and incidents of the MacBook line just happened one after another. Apple is not itself anymore, at least in the interest of MacBook. When I did a feature and price comparison between a MacBook Air and other ultrabook offers, MacBook Air can easily rise up to the number one choice for a laptop that is portable, well-built and powerful enough at a reasonable price.įast forward to 2018. Apple’s hardware back then was top notch and reliable. I have been using a MacBook Air for both personal use and work since 2012.















    How to install and dual boot linux on a mac